The function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character – that is the goal of true education. ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

Knowledge Is Power

We encourage you to seek out information and resources to grow your understanding, expand your perspective and reinforce your ability to affect positive change.  Our Love Action Coalition Learning List offers a non-comprehensive collection of individuals and organizations that we are currently giving our attention to.

Love Action Coalition Learning List

Below you will find representatives of the resistance including senators, journalists and activists. You will find organizations entrenched in the fight for equality and human rights. You will also find links to groups providing political updates and opportunities to get involved in social activism.

Our Leaning list is not static and will change and evolve. We welcome contributions or comments. Please Contribute Suggestions>>

Links to 100 Day Plans of Action:

Social Action Information Portals:

MoveOn http://front.moveon.org/
Democracy Now https://www.democracynow.org/
Daily Kos http://www.dailykos.com/
Credo Action https://credoaction.com/
RootsAction http://www.rootsaction.org/
BlueOregon https://www.blueoregon.com/
ANSWER Coalition http://www.answercoalition.org/
United We Dream https://action.unitedwedream.org/

Social Action Resources:

Indivisible Guide – A Practical Guide for Resisting https://www.indivisibleguide.com/
Contact your Senator https://www.senate.gov/senators/contact/
Contact your Representative http://www.house.gov/representatives/find/
Activate! Hub’s List of Portland Organizations http://portland.activatehub.org
Support the Boycott https://grabyourwallet.org/
Tips for writing letters to editors  http://ctb.ku.edu/en/table-of-contents/advocacy/direct-action/letters-to-editor/main

Voices of Resistance and Government Accountability:

Within Government

Bernie Sanders http://www.sanders.senate.gov/
Elizabeth Warren https://www.warren.senate.gov/
Ron Wyden https://www.wyden.senate.gov/
Jeff Merkely https://www.merkley.senate.gov/

Beyond Government

Robert Reich http://robertreich.org/https://www.inequalitymedia.org
Van Jones & The Dream Corps http://www.thedreamcorps.org/
Dan Rather https://www.newsandgutsmedia.com/
Keith Olbermann http://video.gq.com/series/the-closer-with-keith-olbermann
Bill Moyers & Co http://billmoyers.com/
Shaun King https://twitter.com/shaunking?lang=en

Social Justice Organizations We Support:

American Civil Liberties Union https://www.aclu.org/
Southern Poverty Law Center https://www.splcenter.org/
Common Cause http://www.commoncause.org/
Planned Parenthood https://www.plannedparenthood.org
Black Lives Matter http://blacklivesmatter.com/
Human Rights Campaign: Advocating for LGBTQ Equality http://hrc.org/
Human Rights Watch https://www.hrw.org

Environmental Defense Organizations We Support:

Environmental Defense Fund https://www.edf.org/
National Resource Defense Council https://www.nrdc.org/
EarthJustice http://earthjustice.org
Union of Concerned Scientists http://www.ucsusa.org
Global Coral Reef Alliance http://www.globalcoral.org

Other Resource Links:

Portland’s Community Engagement System

Office of Neighborhood Involvement: 503-823-4519; www.portlandonline.com/oni/

Neighborhood Coalitions:

Diversity and Civic Leadership Partners:

Portland City Government

  • City/County Information and Referral: 503-823-4000.
  • City of Portland website: http://www.portlandonline.com/
  • City Council bureau assignments: www.portlandonline.com/index.cfm?c=28533#cid_15472
  • City/County Pocket Guide: http://www.portlandonline.com/shared/cfm/image.cfm?id=52554

Multnomah County

Oregon State Government

Please Contribute Suggestions